My favorite things

I have my go to recipes for most of my favorite things, but I want to make sure that I have the best recipes in my repertoire.  Here you’ll find what I’ve tried with the hopes of ultimately finding the best of the best.

Cookies:

Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Sugar Cookies:  This is really where it all started.  I remember spending many hours in the kitchen with my Mom making and decorating Sugar Cookies for every seasonal special event.  Given their importance in my life, they were even the favor at my wedding (whipped up by amazing sister and I).  The recipe my Mom swears by has been in the family for many generations and while I’ve tried many others, I do still think it’s one of the best.

ShortBread Cookies:  My grandparents always lived far away from us, but whenever they visit (or vice versa) I would always look forward to my Gramma’s Shortbread cookies, with the perfect texture and crumble.

Breakfast

Cinnamon Buns:  The best cinnamon buns I have ever tried are from Grounds for Beans in Vancouver.  I am on the search to find a recipe that replicates the sweet doughy yumminess complete with an amazing cream cheese icing.

Lemon Loaf:  Again my go to recipe for this item comings from the cookbook ‘Simply Love’.  While I’m very happy with this recipe, I’m happy to continue the lemon search.

Squares

Brownies:  My go to recipe for years has been from the cookbook ‘Simply Love’.  It has a good texture with a yummy  icing with a hint of coffee.  But I would like to find a good basic recipe with the right denseness and chocolate that I can then create variations from.

Lemon Squares:  On the topic of lemon, I love a good lemon square.  I was first turned on to these when I was working (for a short period) at ‘Sweet Obsessions’ .

Cakes and Cupcakes: 

CupCakes:  My husband and I chose to  serve cupcakes at our wedding in the Cotswolds and had good friends carefully transport them 2 hours from  London as I had to have them from Hummingbird.  Even though I’m from the other side of the pond, I really do think these are some of the best cupcakes I have ever had.  The recipe for Vanilla Cupcakes from the ‘Hummingbird’ Cookbook has been my go to ever since.

Raspberry Cake:  When I was young, I lived next to a couple who were our adopted grandparents, as our birth grandparents lived so far away.    Along one wall, they grew the most amazing plump raspberries.  In exchange for my siblings and I picking the raspberries at their peak, Mrs. Parker would serve us the most amazing cake made with the Raspberries in the icing.  The cake itself, was light, moist, crumbly and buttery.  Years later, I asked Mrs. Parker for her special secret recipe and she burst my bubble when she told me that the cake was from a cake mix.  That cake is one of my fondest food memories of my childhood and I’d love to be able to replicate it.  The best  that I have found so far was a slice of raspberry pound cake from PureBread bakery in Vancouver.

Other recipes to try:

Birthday Cake Fudge:  The first time I saw this on Delish I knew my kids would go crazy for this recipe and I was right!

 

Leave a Reply

